Composer’s Note

Sea Spirits (1994) was awarded the 1994 Jean Bogan Memorial Prize for Piano Composition, administered in association with the University of Newcastle Conservatorium of Music Keyboard Festival.

The work comprises six continuous sections which are closely integrated through the use of recurring themes and textures. While the recurrence of this material provides an effective unifying element, it also allows for the development of the musical ideas throughout the work.

Sea Spirits seeks to reflect a sense of yearning and striving, through the use of long, ascending melodic lines, while the ethereal images of water and windswept skies are expressed through a piano texture inspired by the sounds of gently moving wind chimes.

Matthew Orlovich,

Score Sample

Score Sample: Sea Spirits (for solo piano) | By Matthew Orlovich


For info regarding scores,
contact Matthew Orlovich.

Score Details

Sea Spirits

Date of composition:

Scored for:
Piano solo.

ca 12 minutes, 30 seconds

World Premiere:
Performed by Jerard Heffernan @ 1995 Keyboard Festival, University of Newcastle Conservatorium of Music.

Contact me

If you would like more information about this music, feel free to get in touch.

I look forward to hearing from you!