Project Description

Composer’s Note

Cloud Nine (for soprano saxophone, piano and electronic bow) was commissioned in 2021 by HD Duo (Michael Duke, saxophone; David Howie, piano) with the financial support of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney.

In keeping with the title of the work, the first movement (Joyful; dotted crotchet = c. 80) is euphoric in mood, commencing with a buoyant theme that recurs between moments of exuberant bebop-esque music, gleeful chordal displays, scalar runs and passages comprising piquant effects and ornamentations.

The second movement (Dark and stormy; quaver = c. 60) – a meditation on the awe-inspiring grandeur of a cumulonimbus cloud – is a nod to The International Cloud Atlas (1896) and its more literal use of the work’s title. Offering a moment of repose, the movement begins with the sound of distant thunder and features a slowly unfurling melody accompanied by the hum of an electromagnetically-excited B-flat piano string.

The third and final movement (Playful; crotchet = c. 120) begins with some cheeky, high-spirited interplay between the saxophone and piano. There ensues a short recapitulation of music from the first movement, culminating in a resolute coda.

I thank HD Duo for commissioning Cloud Nine and gratefully acknowledge the financial support of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney.

Dr Matthew Orlovich

• B-flat soprano saxophone appears transposed on this score.
Acciaccature are to be played as quickly as possible, before the beat.
• Electronic bow: Prior to commencing Movement II, place a “Joyo Infinite Sustainer Device”, or “EBow” on the piano’s B-flat3 string (two semitones below middle C).

c. 12 minutes.

Score Sample


World Premiere Performance – To be announced.
Performers: HD Duo – Michael Duke (saxophone) & David Howie (pno).

Stay tuned for details!

"Cloud Nine" (for soprano saxophone, piano and electronic bow) – by Matthew Orlovich.

Cloud Nine
(for Soprano Sax, Piano and Electronic Bow)

Coming soon to

Cloud Nine

20 December, 2021

Soprano Saxophone, Piano and Electronic Bow.

c. 12 minutes

Waratah Music
(Coming Soon)

Printed Edition (WM021):
ISMN 979-0-7202-1540-2

Digital Download (WM021e):
ISMN 979-0-7202-1541-9

If you would like more information about this score, feel free to email me.
I look forward to hearing from you!